Home
Learn More
Release Features
Search Archives
Contact Us
Submit Press Release
September 5, 2008
 
Industry Categories  
News by Country  
News by MSA  
Todays News  
Browse by Day  
Trackbacks™  
ViewNews™  
RSS  
The premier online news distribution service dedicated exclusively to political and public interest issues.
 
Close Move
All Press Releases for June 25, 2008 Subscribe to this News Feed     Subscribe to this Podcast Feed  
 

Recent National Arbitration Forum Domain Name Decisions Involve YouTube, Canadian Television and American Girl

Dispute resolution provider offers inexpensive legal process for domain disputes.

Minneapolis, MN (Issues Wire / PRWEB) June 25, 2008 -- The National Arbitration Forum issued decisions on the rights to YouTube.net, CTV.com, and AmericanGirl.net. Conflicts over domain names are on the rise. The dispute resolution provider handled 1,658 domain disputes in 2006, a 21 percent increase from the prior year, and 1,805 disputes in 2007.

The following decisions were made in accordance with the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP) of the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) by independent and neutral arbitrators on the National Arbitration Forum Panel.

YouTube.net
Complainant Google Inc., owner of the popular video sharing site YouTube.com, filed a complaint on March 11, 2008 against YiWuShi Shuangfeng Jixie Youxian Gongsi of China, the registered owner of YouTube.net.

The National Arbitration Forum Panelist followed traditional UDRP principles in disregarding the functional ".net" generic top-level domain (gTLD) when determining the "YouTube" domain name was identical to Complainant's YOUTUBE trademark. The arbitrator also found that the website at the domain name advertises and displays adult-oriented content. The owner of YouTube.net registered and used the domain name in bad faith based on the fact that it was using Complainant's well-known mark to provide such content. For these reasons, the National Arbitration Forum granted transfer of YouTube.net to Google Inc. on May 5, 2008.

CTV.com
Complainant CTV Inc., a Canadian English language television network, brought a complaint against CTV.com owner Murat Yikilmaz of Turkey, on April 11, 2008.

Complainant has used the CTV mark since 1961 to identify its goods and services, and registered the CTV mark in 1974 with the Canadian Intellectual Property Office. A three member Panel found that the domain name was identical to the CTV trademark. The Panel determined that the three letters which constitute the essence of the disputed domain name are generic initials used by many parties to identify many goods and services. The Panel found Respondent to be in the domain name warehousing business, specializing in three character domains. Respondent's use of CTV.com to attract Internet traffic is a legitimate business interest, especially in this case where none of the advertisements are related to Complainant's television operations. Additionally the Panel found CTV Inc. had not proven the domain name was registered or used in bad faith. The majority of the Panel denied Complainant's requested relief on June 10, 2008. Panelist Kerans dissented in the decision, inferring that Respondent likely was aware of CTV Inc.'s business and mark in Canada and the U.S.

AmericanGirl.net
American Girl, LLC, a subsidiary of Mattel that manufactures dolls and books for young girls, submitted a complaint against The Tidewinds Group, Inc on February 25, 2008 seeking transfer of AmericanGirl.net.

The National Arbitration Forum arbitrator found that the domain name was identical to the AMERICAN GIRL trademark, which Complainant had submitted into the record. Further, Respondent used the site to display links to commercial websites, proving no legitimate interest in the disputed domain name. Finally, the Panelist looked at the registration and use of the disputed domain name. It was found that Respondent registered the domain name in 2002, three years before the application filing date for the AMERICAN GIRL mark that Complainant provided. While noting that Complainant provided no evidence that it possessed common law rights or any other trademarks previous to 2005, the National Arbitration Forum Panelist found no bad faith registration or use and denied transfer of AmericanGirl.net to American Girl, LLC on April 16, 2008.

To file a claim see www.domains.adrforum.com. Questions regarding domain name dispute resolution or e-commerce arbitration may be directed to domaindispute [at adrforum.com. Media please contact Christina Doucet at 952-516-6486 or media [at adrforum.com.

About the National Arbitration Forum (FORUM)
Based in Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States, the National Arbitration Forum is an international leader in arbitration and mediation services. An innovator in the industry, the National Arbitration Forum was appointed an approved provider of the Uniform Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP) by the Internet Corporation of Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) in 1999. Since then, over 10,000 domain name disputes worldwide have been filed through the National Arbitration Forum's state-of-the-art case management system, now optimized by Forthright. For more information, visit www.domains.adrforum.com.

More information about the decisions can be found at:
www.domains.adrforum.com/domains/decisions/1159972.htm
www.domains.adrforum.com/domains/decisions/1177671.htm
www.domains.adrforum.com/domains/decisions/1153605.htm

###

Post Comment:
Trackback URL: http://issueswire.prweb.com/pingpr.php/U3F1YS1Mb3ZlLVN1bW0tQ3Jhcy1Qcm9mLVplcm8=

Technorati Tags

Bookmark -  Del.icio.us | Digg | Furl It | Spurl | RawSugar | Simpy | Shadows | Blink It | My Web


Other Releases by this Member
OPTIONS
Printer Friendly Version
Download PDF Version
Download Reader Version
BlogThis
ShareIt

Share The News

Submit this press release easily to any of these major bookmarking and social media sites.

CONTACT INFORMATION
Christina Doucet
National Arbitration Forum
952-516-6486
Email us Here
ATTACHED FILES

National Arbitration Forum Logo

National Arbitration Forum Logo
National Arbitration Forum Logo

National Arbitration Forum Domain Name Decisions Release

National Arbitration Forum Domain Name Decisions Release
National Arbitration Forum Domain Name Decisions Release

ABOUT PRESS RELEASES
Issues Wire and PRWeb® disclaim all responsibility for content contained within this press release. If you have any questions regarding information contained in this press release, please contact the company listed
in the press release. Do not contact Issues Wire or PRWeb®, as we will be unable
to assist you with your inquiry.
 
 

© Copyright 2008 Vocus PRW Holdings LLC
"PRWeb" and "Issues Wire" are trademarks of Vocus PRW Holdings LLC and/or Vocus, Inc.
All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

 
  Terms of Service | Privacy Policy